top of page

Village Idiot- Samson Hawkins

Speculative design project for the Nottingham Playhouse Prize.

Set in Syresham, Northamptonshire a group of locals from the rural town try to fight against the HS2. New Comedy play written for the Nottingham Playhouse.


Mostly set in a Village Hall. I decided on an illustrative style for the set to highlight how it is a play within a play and show the difference between what the characters have brought and what the ‘Playhouse’ have provided for them.

The places are based of real places I know from my own life as I am also from a rural town so I found the settings and characters familiar which helped me to base my design.


3D scan of my Village Idiot Model. Showcasing the 3 main settings from the show: The Village Hall, Barbara’s Living Room and the Honeybone Household.

Related Posts

See All

Whose Shoes (October 2021)

For my speculative design project, I decided to go with a pantomime style. I chose to design it like this based on advice I got from a survey I did with children at my mother’s primary school. My ques

bottom of page